Oh Topshop making up new words, again : COATIGAN?

I know I sound like a proper geek but I can’t help but look at other peoples websites with a critical eye now. Notably, Topshop.com have been caught out by my critical eye a lot recently. On Friday my friend Grace saw this COATIGAN on the Topshop website. Firstly, COATIGAN? Are you actually having my eyes out? Coatigan is not a real word. Secondly, by using this silly term in such a manner (see description) you’re hardly going to get your new word in the Oxford Dictionary are you?! DREADFUL Topshop, just DREADFUL.

Topshop.com to me are quite strange in their approach to product descriptions…the description attached to this product is not grammatically correct and is far too wordy. I myself would have written something like:

Wool blend, wrap over jacket with a cosy large collar and self-tie belt. This style  has long sleeves, is hip length and features an all-over polar bear print

NO?

Do you think having a good description can persuade you to buy something online? Or do you not even bother to read into a product description?

I’d really like to hear your thoughts on this, considering I write product descriptions for a living.

Cx

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment., Everyday Life., Fashion Trends, Fashion., Judy Pink, London, Topshop, www.clairebriston.com

Leave a Reply

