London Fashion Week Round-Up: DAY FOUR.


London Fashion Week A/W 2009.

DAY FOUR: Monday 23rd February 2009.

So today saw the catwalk shows of Giles, Ossie Clark, Julien Macdonald, Luella, Erdem, Jasper Conran, Marios Schwab, Paul Smith and Louise Goldin… and does Jourdan Dunn just walk for EVERYONE now? She definitely is in massive demand! And why not?! Good on her I say!


Ossie Clark.

picture-2

-Jourdan Dunn walks for Ossie Clark.

picture-3

picture-41

picture-51

picture-61

picture-71

picture-81

picture-91

picture-11


It was love at first sight with Ossie Clark‘s A/W offering. Keeping to the Ossie Clark signature 60s/70s style Avsh Alom Gur (Creative Director) has given, what I feel, the nicest, most wearable and ‘lovliest’ collection of the season. It’s a very “me” collection. I found it very difficult to whittle down all the images to the ones above, but I feel the ones above best represent the Autumn/Winter trend. Towards the end of the showcase we see a rather ‘bridal’ inspired few items which really intrigued me. Particularly love the last image above; this would just look wonderful worn by a modern bride wanting a vintage inspired gown. The collection utilises soft uncomplicated prints adorned onto pussy bow dresses and bell-bottomed jumpsuits. Think it’s safe to safe thick white tights are definitely going to be a big trend for A/W. Great! Love my white tights! Again, burnt orange is the flavour of the season with the colour splashed onto feminine blouses and caped coats. The rest of the colour palette looks at slatey blues, mustard and burgundy.

GILES.

picture-21

picture-52

picture-12

– Jourdan Dunn walks for GILES.

picture-15

picture-82

picture-17

I was left quite disappointed with the Giles Deacon collection. I really thought it would have been a more ‘wearable’ and a more commercial collection to coincide with the looming recession. Clearly he wanted to go the other way, and again, fight against the recession by producing a very art influenced A/W showcase. I cannot help but think this collection is inspired by 80’s Vogue (see the head gear) and creatures from beneath the sea however? Please do correct me if I’m wrong though! The last two images (above) are very reminiscent of a particular fish – a blow fish! Strange? Suppose not considering it is Giles, afterall. The big ‘rocket’ costume thing? What is that about? I mean, there is quirky, and plain stupid. C’mon Giles! There were one or two garments which were nice, and I do take a fancy to the ‘butterfly’ print seen on trousers and flowing dresses. But unfortunately, I have to say, thats were my ‘fancy’ ended.

Luella.

picture-18

picture-19

– My fave outfit of the collection.

picture-211

– Pixie Geldof walks for Luella Bartley.

picture-20

I quite enjoyed Luella‘s showcase. Enjoyed seeing Pixie Geldof walk confidently; it’s so refreshing to see a ‘normal’ sized non-model walk the catwalk. She looked really good! The collection was half military inspired with tweed and studding, and the usual Luella Tee’s cropped up. There were some opulent gold fabrics also used, but my favourite pieces were the more heritage fabrics and I loved the boyfriend blazer coat (first image). Also, absolutely adored the whole outfit which I’ve highlighed above. Love love love the tweed panelled skirt with t-shirt combo and puffer jacket to finish. Again, another ‘me’ outfit. Luella is doing so well, and I’m definitely looking forward to seeing the stock hit stores shortly!


Ms. Judy Pink.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1960s, 1970s, Entertainment., Everyday Life., Fashion Trends, Fashion., Judy Pink, LFW, London, www.clairebriston.com

Leave a Reply

